Pennard Vets - Tonbridge

Eton Place
31 London Road
TN10 3AB


Welcome to Pennard Vets - Small animal veterinary practices in Sevenoaks, Borough Green, Tonbridge, Maidstone and Allington, offering a full range of pet services. We believe in preventative medicine, but, when your pet becomes ill, Pennard Vets prides itself on offering the latest equipment and techniques to help find out the problem quickly and effectively.

  • Small animals only - cats, dogs, rabbits, guinea pigs etc
  • Surgery and diagnostic imaging
  • Dental services
  • Pet passports
  • 24 hour Emergency care and hospitalisation
  • Nurse and vet consultations
  • FREE Puppy parties held by our own qualified nurses
  • Pet Health Plan

Pet Health Club

Please click here for more information

Opening times

Day Opens Closes
Monday 8:30 am 6:00 pm
Tuesday 8:30 am 6:00 pm
Wednesday 8:30 am 6:00 pm
Thursday 8:30 am 6:00 pm
Friday 8:30 am 6:00 pm
Saturday 8:30 am 12:00 pm
Sunday Closed Closed

Clinic reviews

5 Stars - 08-05-2017 - mandy

This practice is amazing- I can't praise all the staff enough! Matt, Katy, Anne have all gone above and beyond in my opinion when treating my animals- a cat, 2 rabbits and my beloved dog that was put to sleep in feb by Matt. He was so caring and kind. Explained the options for Nellie, my baby. He gave me time to spend with Nellie then Anne took some photos of us - we all sat on the floor making a fuss of her. She was in my arms in her final moments- They made the awful experience more bearable. Anne phoned me the next day to see how I was and wrote me a beautiful letter with a poem. I've seen Katie with my cat and rabbit. I can't tell you how lovely she is. Katie is so kind and caring, and understands how much our 4 legged family members mean to us. She is an outstanding vet. I would - and do - recommend Pennards vets. They have their own Petplan which is great value. They are a vets like no other- they care about our animals and not how much money they can get out of us- as I have found with other vets I've been to in the past. if you are looking for a vet, give them a call - you won't be sorry. Thank you Matt, Katie, Anne and the girls on reception for looking after my pets and me- I think you are amazing x

2 Stars - 13-03-2017 - Laurence

5 Stars - 18-06-2016 - Louise

We have been at Pennards for a long time and have always found the help, advice and support amazing and highly professional.They are a really friendly team and we have got to know them really well over the years. One of our Labs Ellie has had various serious issues and we've had some important decisions to make. The advice they gave us was always professional and also practical and helped us make the right choice of treatment that was needed. She was a dog of many lives and every time they kept us in touch and were so caring. The whole team knew her and every time we are in there were lots of cuddles! They all care so much and in the last few weeks of her life we had phone calls checking how she was and you knew they would do anything to help. People say they are expensive but they have an excellent Pet Plan which helps spreads costs out and I wouldn't compromise my animals care for anything.Thank you for all you do :)

5 Stars - 21-03-2016 - Sarah J

Having been a customer of Pennards initially in Sevenoaks since 1988, we moved to Tonbridge nine years ago and have been with Tonbridge Pennards since moving here. Sydney has had various health issues, and all the team at Pennards have been great in helping him get through them. A huge thank you from Sydney and I, for such a great service, always friendly, helpful, accommodating and professional, thank you all of you.

2.4 Stars - 25-02-2016 - Andy L

I have been taking my pets to this practice for 20 years. Long before they became part of the Pennard Partnership. I love my dogs and will always do anything for them, however, I am not prepared to be ripped off because of my love for them. My Spaniel picked up a nasty stomach upset and became dehydrated and so we, rightly, took him to the vet. They also rightly assessed that he should be kept in and put on an IV to rehydrate him. For the examination and a night in a cage with a drip, they have charged me £389.60! This included £99 for the overnight stay (He was checked once at 10pm)! I have just returned from a stay in a premier inn and I can get a nice room and cooked breakfast for 2 of us and still have change for the price they have charged me for a cage! I was charged £7.38 for 6 Ranitidine tablets that I can buy without prescription for 49p! £12.65 for the IV solution that I can buy (not in bulk) for £4.75. I could go all the way through their invoice but I don't want to bore! I mentioned my disappointment when I came to pay the bill but they really didn't give a damn so that is why I feel the need to let others know. I have no issue with people earning a living but I cannot abide greed. I am upset that after 20 years I am going to have to move but I have been recommended another local practice where the care and attention is at least as good but the prices are respectable. It is also rare now to see the same vet twice so it seems as if they are going through a few of them too. It is such a shame.

Vet Response

Thank you for letting us know of your experience with us. Whilst we are pleased to learn that you were satisfied with our clinical care of your pet, we are disappointed to learn that you were unhappy with the costs you incurred, estimates for treatment are given before it is instigated. We always recognise that people have a choice of who they trust to care for their pets, and we strive every day to do the very best we can for a fair price for all our clients. Our prices reflect the realities of providing the high level of service we do, as well as the different legislation that for example applies to supplying medication to animals compared to humans. We would be more than happy to speak to you about your concerns in detail if you would like to.

4.8 Stars - 19-10-2015 - Alice

Having recently undertaken work experience here (and being a regular customer) I cannot stress enough how lovely and friendly all of the staff are. Highly professional and always have our pets needs at heart. The staff get to know you and your pets personally in order to make the most accurate diagnosis for your animal. All the nurses are so inviting that our dogs now enjoy and even look forward to coming to the vets for their monthly weight and health checks! The vets are also highly skilled and we have placed our trust in them multiple times for procedures and have never been let down or disappointed with the treatments. Would never hesitate to recommend this practice and the staff within it.

5 Stars - 25-06-2015 - The BT pack

Over the years Pennards have helped look after various issues with all of my dogs. The services they have been able to offer have helped with avoiding going to other referral practices and meant i can deal with it at my own vets. They all care and do a great job and wouldn't have it any other way. Thanks Pennards :-)

5 Stars - 16-05-2014 - Ian & Mr Pickles

Just wanted to say many thanks to Caroline whom I saw today with my cat. Professional and knowledgeable, yet friendly too as always. Many thanks - Ian and Mr Pickles ! XX

5 Stars - 09-03-2014 - Andy

This week my old dog was not very well, he is in his twilight years and every extra day is precious. My family have used Pennard Vets for many years and have found the service to be fantastic. The clinic has modernised and offers the latest treatments. In an emergency or when I have been worried it has always been possible to speak to or see someone who can reassure us. This week my old boy was not himself, with the vets help we decided on a treatment plan which suited the circumstances. We can trust the whole clinic to do the best for us at what is going to be a difficult time.

2.4 Stars - 02-03-2014 - Disgruntled ex-customer

We were with this practice when it was Eton Vets. They were always one of the more expensive vets in the area, however they did appear to be driven by what's best for the animals. Since it was taken over by this chain we have witnessed a steady decline so it now appears to be driven by what's best for our profits, irrespective of what the animal may or may not need. That includes unnecessary visits/re-visits, blood tests, etc, etc all at highly inflated prices. Given the medical history of one of our pets we were reluctant to change vets. Having now done so we only wish we had done it a lot earlier. The new practice, and their approach, has highlighted just how bad Pennard has come. So based on comparing our experiences over a long period of time, and with different practices, is unless you have very, very deep pockets and don't mind causing your pets unnecessary stress, avoid this chain at all costs.

Vet Response

We are sorry to hear that you have not been happy with our service recently. Eton Vets has been part of Pennard Vets for over 10 years with the same long standing and well respected values unchanged. Our priority has always and will always be our patients and their best interests and offering the right approach for them after informed discussions with their owners. We would always encourage any feedback on concerns with any aspect of our service, so that we can discuss it in full and make any improvements necessary. We would invite you to speak to our senior vets so that we may investigate where you feel we have let your down. Please contact the practice at your earliest convenience.
Show me more posts