We have visited this Vets twice and had a very different experience each time. On our first visit the vet was friendly and took the time to get our dog to familiarise with him before starting treatment. We were also very happy with the examination and the care taken during the treatment. Our dog can get a bit agitated at the vets due to past experiences and so we usually advise that she is muzzled, more as a precaution really as she is not very trusting of vets. The first vet was very careful with putting a muzzle on and our dog was fine with it. On our second visit it couldn't have been a more different experience. We were not even acknowledged in the reception area on arriving for our appointment for 10 minutes!! When we went into the examination room we were greeted by an awful wet dog smell, now I appreciate this is a vets, however, our usual vet practice has never smelt like this. It always smelled like it has just been disinfected. We had a different vet this time and she appeared to not really be interested in our dog at all. She didn't take time to say hello and make sure our dog felt comfortable with her before starting treatment. Again we advised that she might want to use a muzzle and myself and my husband were horrified at how the vet put the muzzle on, to say it was tight is an understatement and I could tell it was making the experience stressful for our dog. My husband had to loosen the strap of the muzzle when the vet left the room as she was struggling to swallow. When we came to pay, the amount was different to what we had been advised so I asked the receptionist what the cost of the treatment was. This was more expensive than what we had been told it would be, however, when I told the receptionist this I was made to feel like I was making it up. I asked her to check what we paid on the last visit as it was the same treatment and it turned out to be less than we were being charged this time. The receptionist went to speak to the vet and when she returned she made a point of informing me that the vet was not happy and that the last vet (the owner) had charged us less than the marked price. I was then told that he had probably done this to keep you happy, to which I informed the receptionist that we had not asked for a special price and had just assumed that this was the normal price when we were told of the treatment options. The whole situation was just really uncomfortable and I do not expect to be treated like this. We do not have any complaint with the owner who our first appointment was with, however, based on this last experience we will not be returning to this practice.
As the partner/owner at Vets4Pets York Clifton Moor I am sorry to hear you were unhappy about your recent experience. I am able to respond to a couple of points on this forum, however.
The first is regarding the pricing. In error there was a dispensing fee applied to your bill at the second visit. I can only apologise and am pleased that the pricing was resolved before you left the practice.
It is difficult to comment on your dog's treatment on your second visit as I wasn't present. I would like the opportunity to speak with you in person regarding your experience.
I am sorry to hear that you feel that you cannot return to the practice and hope you will get in contact with me to discuss this further. However, whatever your decision I wish you, and your dog, well.